Austin Poetry Slam

Austin Poetry Slam events take place each Tuesday at the Spiderhouse Ballroom (located at 29th and Fruth Street). The Austin Poetry Slam (APS) is one of the longest running poetry venues in Texas. Founded in 1994 by Wammo of the Asylum Street Spankers and helmed for 15 years by former Poetry Slam, Inc. president, Mike Henry, Austin Slam is renowned for memorable and often raucous performances by many of the best poets in the slam poetry world. The Austin Poetry Slam continues every Tuesday at 8pm at the United States Art Authority. The current slammaster is Danny Strack.