Luci Baines Johnson and Ian Turpin Give Gift to KLRU

KLRU-TV, Austin PBS, announces that Luci Baines Johnson and Ian Turpin have made a significant donation in honor of three key individuals who have tirelessly supported public broadcasting in Central Texas for more than 40 years:  Lady Bird Johnson, Sandy Youman and Catherine Robb.

“As a child of the LBJ administration, PBS is family for us.” said Luci Baines Johnson. “So it just seems right to make a gift in its honor, and to honor its dearest friends and ours: my mother Lady Bird, my niece Catherine, and our friend Sandy. We had intended to do this in our will, but decided we wanted to enjoy our station and celebrate our loved ones during our lifetime.”

The gift honors three notable women while extending the impact of public broadcasting in Central Texas:

Lady Bird Johnson served as First Lady when her husband, President Lyndon B. Johnson, signed the Public Broadcasting Act of 1967 into law; she remained an avid viewer, supporter and friend of PBS throughout her lifetime.

Johnson family friend Sandy Youman has been associated with KLRU for over 20 years.  Retired from KLRU in 2005 after a career at the station spanning two decades, Youman was instrumental in building membership, increasing major donors and in creating the Producers Circle.  She continues to actively support KLRU’s work in the community.

Catherine Robb, granddaughter of Lady Bird and Lyndon B. Johnson and niece to Luci Baines Johnson, currently serves as Chair of the KLRU Board of Directors, following many years of advocacy and volunteer service.

The Johnson-Turpin gift will support several key objectives at KLRU, strengthening the organization’s future and advancing innovative new projects.  Johnson also expressed the hope that this gift will serve as inspiration for the public to join her in giving generously to KLRU.

“We are so grateful to Luci Baines Johnson and Ian Turpin for their generosity to KLRU with this gift.” said Bill Stotesbery, KLRU CEO and General Manager. “And we are even more pleased that it recognizes three women who have worked so tirelessly on behalf of public broadcasting to ensure that President Johnson’s vision continues for many more decades to come.”