July 2013 Family Choice

This month’s Family Choice programs are: 1) STATUE OF LIBERTY, the creation and history of the Statue of Liberty; 2) NATURE “Elsa’s Legacy,” a book and then a film that changed forever the way we think about wildlife”; 3) NATURE “Siberian Tiger Quest,” where Chris Morgan attempts to find a Siberian tiger.

STATUE OF LIBERTY
Tuesday, July 2 at 7 p.m.
repeats: Wednesday, July 3 at 3 a.m.
This 1985 Ken Burns film chronicles the creation and history of the Statue of Liberty and what it represents to all Americans. Narrated by David McCullough, the film traces the development of the monument–from its conception, to its complicated and often controversial construction, to its final dedication–and offers interviews with a wide range of Americans to explore the meaning of the Statue of Liberty.

NATURE #2806 “Elsa’s Legacy”
Wednesday, July 17 at 7 p.m.
repeats: Thursday, July 18 at 3 a.m.; Friday, July 19 at 3 a.m.;
Sunday, July 21 at 2 a.m. & 6 p.m.
“Born Free” – a book and then a film that changed forever the way we think about wildlife, marked its 50th anniversary of the publication in 2010. What has happened to lions since this story? And what has happened to the people featured in the film? What has “Born Free” taught us?

NATURE #3001 “Siberian Tiger Quest”
Wednesday, July 24 at 7 p.m.
repeats: Thursday, July 25 at 3 a.m.; Friday, July 26 at 3 a.m.;
Sunday, July 28 at 2 a.m.
Conservation ecologist Chris Morgan embarks on a challenge that will fulfill a lifelong dream — to find and film a Siberian tiger living wild and free in Russia’s far eastern forests. To help him, Morgan turns to Korean cameraman Sooyong Park, the first individual ever to film Siberian tigers in the wild.